Posted by: kam6761 | March 1, 2008

An Influx of Visitors Part Deux

As many of you have probably read on Dan’s blog, I am feeling a bit under the weather. I was feeling very under the weather until a day or two ago, when I started on the antibiotics that the doctor gave me. Now I am feeling quite lethargic but at least am able to get out of bed for longer then 15 minutes at a time! The doctor instructed me to stay home until Friday, which gives me plenty of resting (and blog updating!) time.

Now as some of you may have noticed, this blog is a part 2 of the previous one. However, I want to talk about a NEW kind of visitor that we’ve been “lucky” enough to have, and that is an influx of wall spiders. When we first moved in there were a few, and we got rid of them, and then we wouldn’t see one for a week or two at a time… and then something happened. I don’t know WHAT happened, but I seriously think a wall spider gave birth in our house, because I’d say we see 3-5 a day now. Another explanation is that the mosquito numbers are rapidly increasing, and the spiders prey on mosquitoes, but we don’t have MOSQUITOES in our house, so I don’t know why the spiders seem to think our house is an ideal place to take up residence. Dan is generally the spider slayer, so being at home alone sick with all the wall spiders isn’t exactly the pinnacle of fun for me. There I am, just minding my own business, trying to look for a paper or maybe a tasty snack, and what happens?? The creepy, crawly (not so itsy-bitsy) spider comes darting out of whatever I’m rummaging through, and inevitably manages to elude capture… and by capture I mean certain death.

I should mention that our guide at Etosha told us that Namibia has the most diverse bug population in the world, and I should also mention (if you haven’t picked up on this by now) that I am terrified of bugs.

This makes my current environment a bit less than ideal, considering NOTHING is safe. About a week ago I went into the kitchen to get a yummy cookie (yes, I love tasty snacks) and after I had retrieved said cookie, I prepared to devour it. However, I noticed a piece of the cookie had broken off, and I didn’t want to just leave it in the bag! So I looked inside the bag to get the delicious remains, and what did I see but TONS of little bugs crawling around inside the bag. I then took a moment to examine my cookie, and sure enough there were several little bugs crawling around on it. Needless to say, we put all of our opened food into plastic bags, and that seems to have solved that problem. Then the other day I made us some macaroni and cheese (like from the blue Kraft boxes) and noticed after I poured the macaroni in that several little bugs floated to the top of the boiling water. The only thing we could figure is that the bugs are small enough to somehow crawl into the box through one of the small spaces that the glue didn’t seal off.

So there you have it, we’ve gone from volunteer teachers to involuntary Fear Factor participants on a meal to meal basis!

Responses

  1. LOL!! running away from spiders!!:P and all u need for the bugs are air tight boxes, keep ur food fresh and bug free!!:P

  2. YUK YUK. I wouldn’t last 1 minute in that environment. You are your Grandmothers double. I HATE bugs. You will have to wrap everything in plastic bags that seal. If you bought the Mac & cheese there, chances are the bugs were there when you purchased it. I am sure the stores aren’t exactly sanitary. I hope by now you are well on the road to recovery from your mystery illness. It sure laid you low. How did you ever keep the children out for a whole week?
    Today is a beautiful sunny day here, not exactly warm but at least not frigid. I see signs of Spring, a few plants and trees popping buds. Now that is a happy sign. Take care.

  3. Ewewewewew. I feel your pain – if I even see ONE spider in our house, I trap it and wait for Greg to come home to kill it. There was once a gigantic mystery insect on one of our kitchen cabinets when we lived in the apartment and I literally sat in the kitchen for an hour and a half starting at it to make sure I didn’t lose track of it so that when Greg came home he could kill it (thank goodness that didn’t happen in the morning, or I’m not sure what I would have done all day!) So I will make sure that when my parents go visit you guys they remember to include lots of big ziplock bags in their (what I am sure is going to be a pretty big) suitcase of stuff for you 🙂

  4. Oh Kathryn, that sounds horrible! Perhaps the Morrisons have bad luck with bugs, remember the meal worm infestation in the garage, or the more recent invasion of stink bugs? Ick. When mom and dad come to visit in August I will send over Brennan’s bug-catching kit! Good luck, and I’m so so so glad you’re feeling better!

  5. Oh my Kathryn – you ARE going to be a walking and bedridden expert on every possible communicable condition…but enough of all the “pest”ilence…please! I got the real “blues” just hearing about the Kraft Mac n’ Cheese critters…and coming after the bugged out cookies, I have to think you have eaten enough insects to gag a maggot! Maybe it is high time to teach the children how to sing “I Don’t Why He Swallowed the Fly”…perhaps they’ll die? Why couldn’t you have just come down with a bad case suffering succotash instead? We hopw you are feeling better and certainly in time for tomorrow’s big BIRTHDAY! Hippo Bear Day to Ewe….just a little Namibian animal humor to help you celebrate the day. LOL, E, D and Sofi too XOXOX!!!!!!

  6. Hey Kathryn! I have to share your pain, as I am not a fan of bugs either. But I hope you’re doing well and that you’re having a great time abroad. Please keep in touch. I don’t blog as often as I used to, but I still have my old livejournal up and running.

    Take care!

    Phil O.


Leave a Reply

Categories

